Adventure in Scotland

All of my most exciting experiences to share with my family and friends :)

Showing Mom and Dad My “Hometown” October 24, 2012

Filed under: Scotland — McCahl in Scotland @ 4:58 pm

The last part of Mom and Dad’s visit was in my town of Fort William.  I was so excited for them to finally see where I live, go to school, and who I have been living with.  Upon arrival, after another long train ride, we brought our bags up to my place and soon after were right back out the door.  We ate dinner and spent a while chatting in the pub with a couple of drinks.  Mom had the beer on special, after tasting it Dad and I knew it was on special so that they could get rid of it and Mom fell into the trap. haha. The next morning we went to Loch Ness in look for Nessie the monster, we didn’t have any luck finding her.  We went on a cruise around the area and saw the sea view of Urquhart Castle.  Soon after, we were back on the bus on our way to Inverness.  There we got to eat my favorite fish and chips again, yummy!  We walked over to St Andrews Cathedral and it was beautiful! I don’t understand how everything was made in such detail so long ago.  Next was a walk around the city taking in how beautiful everything was.

We spent the entire next day out in the local area of Fort William.  First on the plan was looking through the local cemetery, some of the gravestones were from the early 1800’s.  Next, we went to the West Highland Museum, it was much more informative and interesting than what I thought it would be. We decided to go up the gondola to the top of Ben Nevis next.  The view on the way up was amazing and gave us the ability to see for miles but soon we were high in the clouds, not able to see anything.  We all warmed up with some chili, which was served on a plate, and back to the bottom we went.  The next, and last stop of the day was the Ben Nevis Distillery.  Once again, I learned a ton and this time I found out that in their barn Braveheart was filmed.  Once back to the hotel we ordered pizza, once we opened it we saw hot dogs on the top! It is a different sausage than what we were expecting and it did not taste as good.

The last day mom and dad were here we had a hang out day.  We didn’t do too much, walked up and down high street in some shops and stopped for lunch.  We tried haggis!! Mom was the first and it was so funny when she was trying to keep a straight face and act like it tasted fine. I was next and sneaky Dad had the camera ready to get all the faces that I would make. Shockingly, Dad even tried it, after adding enough salt for an entire meal for six. Needless to say, he did not like it either.  That lunch had to be the most entertaining meal that I have ever been a part of.  Then it was time to say bye to my parents. I am so happy that they were able to come see me and we got to go see so much! I love them more than they will ever understand ❤

 

Leave a comment